Author Topic: Hubitat  (Read 930 times)

Rupert

  • Inner Core
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2333
  • George in a previous life.
    • View Profile
    • SuitsMen
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2018, 06:01:01 PM »
RC did you find a switch that goes dumb when the automation fails? I would think that would be important.  Otherwise you are left with lights always on or always off I would guess...

digging into Hubitat.  I get why you like it.
... Make sure you live before you die.

rcjordan

  • I'm consulting the authorities on the subject
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7366
  • Debbie says...
    • View Profile
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2018, 11:41:12 PM »
>goes dumb

This is what I'm using
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B019HTH2A0/

I haven't fully tested, but I couldn't get these to work unless they had been paired with a hub.  I yet don't know if they continue to function as switches manually if the hub fails once they've been paired.

>why you like it

The highly skilled refugees keep pouring in from Smartthings and development of device drivers and sophisticated "extended" routines (such as thermostat handlers) are happening at what I consider to be a blistering pace for a small tech company.  As it turns out, SH devices are really a sort of white label hardware with readable, modifiable driver files telling them what to do and how to interface with the hub.  So, in some instances, to move a device from one brand hub to hubitat is as simple as doing a find/replace.

<added>
>highly skilled

The user group, being experienced in SH tech, is very good at catching or isolating bugs and actively use the forum to hash it out.  The devs must be sleeping with the code, because I've seen more than a few "Oh, I know the line that's causing this" responses. Then fixed in next update (which are frequent, averaging better than 1/week). 
« Last Edit: December 03, 2018, 12:10:26 AM by rcjordan »

rcjordan

  • I'm consulting the authorities on the subject
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7366
  • Debbie says...
    • View Profile
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2018, 03:02:42 PM »
I just tested by pulling the power to the hub. The switches DO continue to function as switches manually if the hub fails. I assume that the initial pairing configures/activates them and that activation is stored in the device itself. I say this because I bought some used switches from Amazon, some of which had obviously been installed previously.  I noticed that these switches worked manually right out of the box.

rcjordan

  • I'm consulting the authorities on the subject
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7366
  • Debbie says...
    • View Profile
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2018, 10:09:23 PM »
27 30 devices installed so far, all but 1 are zigbee. Interior and exterior coverage is good.  I have about 8 more devices yet to install, but the mesh is in place and working well. 
« Last Edit: December 04, 2018, 10:14:20 PM by rcjordan »

ergophobe

  • Inner Core
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4448
    • View Profile
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2018, 10:38:18 PM »
Just installed the TP-Link three-way.
 - works great
 - works with or without network connection
 - app has built-in timer, "away" scheduling, custom scheduling
 - integrates with Alexa

rcjordan

  • I'm consulting the authorities on the subject
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7366
  • Debbie says...
    • View Profile
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #20 on: December 05, 2018, 01:04:40 AM »
require a change in the wiring?

ergophobe

  • Inner Core
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4448
    • View Profile
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #21 on: December 05, 2018, 02:11:32 AM »
Only because the original electrician did not connect the ground to the original switch (the ground was in the box, but not connected... why???)

But no. You *must* have the
- common/power lead
- two travelers
- neutral
- ground (ideally)

So if you have five wires, you're good.

Strangely, it all worked fine manually after I had the first switch installed, but when I went through setup, it wanted both switches installed, so I did that because it apparently needs two. It seems like it would work with one smart and one classic, but they say no. It was like $26 for the set, so I decided to be a good boy and play along instead of experimenting.

My friend was over and installed with me and I said "Holy sh##, welcome to the 21st century!" I thought it was close to magic.

He said "Well, I would expect it to respond to voice commands in the 21st century."

I said, "Well, it's Alexa compatible, so, actually, it does respond to voice commands."

At that point he was suitably impressed.

rcjordan

  • I'm consulting the authorities on the subject
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7366
  • Debbie says...
    • View Profile
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2018, 05:28:37 PM »
Damn, with all the reading I've done, I keep turning up important layout info buried deep in forums. 

Quote
If you have more than 32 ZigBee devices total, you'll also need repeaters since that's the limit for direct connection to the hub (devices routing through repeaters don't count against the hub limit, though each repeater has its own limit as well).

Rupert

  • Inner Core
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2333
  • George in a previous life.
    • View Profile
    • SuitsMen
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #23 on: December 08, 2018, 06:43:43 AM »
Just trying to get my head round what connects easily with Hubitat. 
Seems there are various setups, like the samsung one, and a Smartlife" app etc etc. Others are "alexa compatible".  Loads of other hardware about too though.

How can you tell if the are Hubitat compatible. My understanding is there needs to be a driver written for each device. Am I right? I found this list:

https://community.hubitat.com/t/compatible-devices-wiki/465

also the list of supported devices.
https://docs.hubitat.com/index.php?title=List_of_Supported_Devices
Do you check back to that, or are you finding that in reality, most items are picked up by the Generic drivers?

... Make sure you live before you die.

rcjordan

  • I'm consulting the authorities on the subject
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7366
  • Debbie says...
    • View Profile
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #24 on: December 08, 2018, 08:49:05 PM »
Most items seem to be covered for core functionality,  but may have special features that need a custom driver. For instance,  a switch might also report humidity. It would work generically as a switch but the complete driver would allow it to execute actions as a switch OR humidity sensor.

Hubitat's 'problem' is that it can seemingly use any device if someone writes the driver ...and there are hundreds of devices with more pouring on the market.  But there are favorites,  so they have been operating on a triage system.

Rupert

  • Inner Core
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2333
  • George in a previous life.
    • View Profile
    • SuitsMen
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #25 on: December 11, 2018, 09:44:39 AM »
Got a hub on the way.
Also some Ikea bits, samsung bits and sonoff bits from DealExtreme. Hoping my tag manager bits will connect too.

A bit confused with the Zwave: Zigbee: wifi methods of connecting to the hub.

 It seems the TagManager is wifibased, so not sure if Hubitat will look for those, not found anything to say they play together on the net. Will see.

Does Hubitat use wifi? Except for apps to connect to the hub do you know?
... Make sure you live before you die.

rcjordan

  • I'm consulting the authorities on the subject
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7366
  • Debbie says...
    • View Profile
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #26 on: December 12, 2018, 04:12:42 AM »
No wifi.

Rupert

  • Inner Core
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2333
  • George in a previous life.
    • View Profile
    • SuitsMen
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #27 on: December 12, 2018, 06:51:46 AM »
Thx, not the end of the world.
... Make sure you live before you die.

rcjordan

  • I'm consulting the authorities on the subject
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7366
  • Debbie says...
    • View Profile
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #28 on: December 14, 2018, 12:15:54 AM »
I haven't followed it in detail, but I believe some wifi devices are being converted to local network.  Search on TP-Link.

It's confusing at first, all the various SH 'channels.' I bought a few wall outlets and a couple of switches (z-wave, so I ended up not using them). Getting a table lamp to come on at sunset was how I began the trial-and-error & testing phase.

Rupert

  • Inner Core
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2333
  • George in a previous life.
    • View Profile
    • SuitsMen
Re: Hubitat
« Reply #29 on: December 14, 2018, 10:09:55 AM »
Actually quite excited about this... and my carebubble angle.

Mine is on a flight now from LA. :) But I am thinking running multiple homes. Each is individual, for a care in the community approach. I know... small steps :)  Many Hurdles to overcome.
... Make sure you live before you die.