Th3 Core
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 20, 2017, 02:41:11 PM

Login with username, password and session length
News
Stats
49704 Posts in 6049 Topics by 186 Members
Latest Member: DavidBrown
Search:     Advanced search
* Home active threads unread threads Help Search Login Register
+  Th3 Core
|-+  Why We Are Here
| |-+  Web Development
| | |-+  WC 3.x
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: WC 3.x  (Read 519 times)
Chunkford
Inner Core
Hero Member
*
Posts: 938


View Profile
« on: April 20, 2017, 01:55:56 PM »

Anyone else losing the plot with this major change to WooCommerce?
It's times like this I wish I had the cash to splash and got someone else to do what I want.
One day hey.
Logged

"If my answers frighten you then you should cease asking scary questions"
gm66
Inner Core
Hero Member
*
Posts: 599


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2017, 09:02:34 AM »

3.0 broke my gf's site, suddenly couldn't add to basket, is it safe yet ?
Logged

Civilisation is a race between disaster and education ...
Chunkford
Inner Core
Hero Member
*
Posts: 938


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2017, 11:09:50 AM »

I would wait a little while longer. Found a bug with backwards compatibility - it was to do with not reading or writing the old arrays correctly. Doing it the WC 3.x way though is fine, and I'm actually liking it now. Change is always a difficult thing to overcome.
Logged

"If my answers frighten you then you should cease asking scary questions"
Leona
Inner Core
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 471


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2017, 05:56:46 AM »

I have just gone through the round and had to basically update everything on 3.0.5 now. However, it all seems to be working but I only finished yesterday so no time yet for customers to call with problems.

Yith ajax product filter seems to have crapped the bed and is causing a lot of conflicts, moved to woof, still building it out but so far so good.
product enquiry not updated but it is working
TM extra product addons needs update to latest version or it won't add to cart
Would recommend the woocommerce stripe addon to others
Theme - salient is working well

Not noticed any major changes in the woocommerce system though anything I am missing/should watch out for?

If you need a guy I have one that will do it for you at a reasonable price, I didn't use him on this update as I wanted to control everything myself  (as I am familiar with the finer details and know what to look for).


GM66 if your gf is using TM extra product addons, updating it will fix it, theme update may be the next issue, the core woocommerce is working fine in this respect (3.0.5).

However, theme and plugin developers are still catching up so if you can leave it a while, I would recommend that. Good luck. I am not touching the other websites for a while, only updated this one as I had a Chinese spider aggressively crawling the server with multiple processes so hitting limits and crippling the site a few weeks back. Before I realised what it was and banned them we updated the system thinking it may be that, however elements broke during that process so I jumped off the cliff on Sunday in the hope it would fix everything.
Logged
Chunkford
Inner Core
Hero Member
*
Posts: 938


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2017, 11:07:51 AM »

Quote
Yith ajax product filter

I've played with many, but I went with FacetWP in the end.
It's a bit more developer sided, but once you get your head around it, it's a very nice plugin, and super quick as well.

Quote
Not noticed any major changes in the woocommerce system though anything I am missing/should watch out for?

Have you set define('WP_DEBUG_LOG', true); in your config file? You'll find the debug.log file in wp-content folder then.
I found a lot more errors in there than being displayed on the screen, most probably because of the redirects clearing them.
Logged

"If my answers frighten you then you should cease asking scary questions"
Leona
Inner Core
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 471


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2017, 12:44:51 PM »

Thanks for the heads up but I needed something a little more advanced than that. I wanted image filters so I had hacked the css on Yith but was looking for a good alternative anyway as that was adding a lot of styling. Woof does it natively but the developer wants you to add css to each image filter which is ridiculous but you can add it to the selection instead. I am really liking it. I don't have ajax enabled at the moment I may try it out but I am liking the clean refresh at the moment.

The beauty of this is that you can add it to any page so I now have a filter on the home page that redirects to the shop page. The downside is that you can only build one filter bar, however you may be able to remove sections with shortcodes.

I can send you a link to look at it if you want.

Thanks for the heads up I will check the debug log although part of me wants to live in ignorance so I don't go down that rabbit hole! Seems to be working fine on the front end  Wink
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Go to the Active page, the Unread page, or jump to:  

  Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Mercury design by Bloc